Home What's New Message Board
BigPumpkins.com
Select Destination Site Search
 
KC Kevin - 2023 Grower Diary Point your RSS aggregator here to subscribe to this Grower Diary.

Show Entries in

Grower Diary Menu
  Back to Previous Page
List Other Grower's Diaries
Submit to Your Own Diary

 
Click on a thumbnail picture below to see the full size version. 13 Entries.
Sunday, February 5 View Page
Hello 2023 season! Planted my cover crop today. The house blocks the sun and the patch is mostly in the shade all winter but itís getting better each day now. Planted red clover this year. We will see how it does!
Sunday, March 5 View Page
Sunrise in Danvers! Great convention. Really happy to have met so many great growers this year! Thank you all for making me feel welcome.
Tuesday, April 4 View Page
This yearís lineup!! Many thanks to Don, Steve, Andy and Glenna for the generosity!!!
Wednesday, April 5 View Page
Go time! My earliest start date ever.
Sunday, April 9 View Page
Tiger Lily is first to break through! Happy Easter!!
Wednesday, April 12 View Page
This is not good. This critter is way too comfortable on the wall next to my patch.
Sunday, April 23 View Page
Two 1634 Rea plants and the 2425 Daletas made the finals. I will let these battle it out a while before culling to one.
Monday, May 1 View Page
Planted the pollinator today. 2200 Wolf got The spot. Itís 40 square feet lol.
Wednesday, May 10 View Page
Thereís been some concern that Hydrogen Peroxide could damage plants. Thought I would run some tests on a spare plant. Meet Crash Test Dummy. CTD was drenched yesterday with Zerotol at a 1:200 ratio. Soaked it thoroughly; soil was relatively dry at the time. Hereís the before photo.
Monday, May 15 View Page
This is crash - test dummy, 5 days after the Zerotol drench. No ill effects whatsoever. Plant looks better now than before.
Tuesday, May 16 View Page
And then there was one. Culled the Daletas 2425 today. It was growing well but had some malformed growth. I could have grown it for sure, but the 1634 Rea is a perfect plant. Main is at 5í.
Tuesday, May 23 View Page
The 1634 Rea is coming along nicely. Today is day 30 in the patch. No sign of any females yet. Weather has been cool and overcast for the most part.
Tuesday, June 6 View Page
Pollinated the pollinator today. This 3 lobe opened at about 9 feet out on the 2200 Wolf. Crossed it with the 1634 Rea.

 

Top of Page

Questions or comments? Send mail to Ken AT bigpumpkins.com.
Copyright © 1999-2023 BigPumpkins.com. All rights reserved.