Home What's New Message Board
BigPumpkins.com
Select Destination Site Search
 
THE BIG E (ERIC) - 2021 Grower Diary Point your RSS aggregator here to subscribe to this Grower Diary.

Show Entries in

Grower Diary Menu
  Back to Previous Page
List Other Grower's Diaries
Submit to Your Own Diary

 
Click on a thumbnail picture below to see the full size version. 36 Entries.
Thursday, March 4 View Page
Picked up some starter paks, mycorrhizal, companion Maxx and the 1459 Wallace seed from www.Wallacewow.com. I am excited to get this year going.
Thursday, March 4 View Page
Picked up some starter paks, mycorrhizal, companion Maxx and the 1459 Wallace seed from www.Wallacewow.com. I am excited to get this year going.
Tuesday, April 13 View Page
Letís do it
Friday, April 16 View Page
60 hours after soaking we have ignition. 2-2 on germination.
Thursday, April 29 View Page
Transplanting day is this Saturday. Plants are looking great.
Saturday, May 1 View Page
Where dreams or nightmares will be made. Here we go.
Thursday, May 6 View Page
5 days in the hoop house. Seeing some growth. Looking ok
Sunday, May 16 View Page
Plant is looking good. Few days ago I have it a soil drench of companion fungicide.
Friday, May 28 View Page
Almost on the ground and running
Saturday, May 29 View Page
Picking up the pace. Need to weed and take the hoop house down soon. Cold and rain around 45 degrees. Heater going in the hoop
Friday, June 4 View Page
Hoop house off. I put up a shade cloth for the plan since itís going to be 90+ for the next 3-4 days. I did not want the young plant to get sun scorched.
Tuesday, June 8 View Page
Doing ok. Shade cloth up. Main vine lives to reach for the sky
Tuesday, June 8 View Page
Doing ok. Shade cloth up. Main vine lives to reach for the sky
Tuesday, June 8 View Page
Forgot to attach the photo for the previous entry
Sunday, June 13 View Page
No side vines. Plant is doing ok though.
Thursday, June 17 View Page
Getting bigger. Wish the plant had side vines
Wednesday, June 23 View Page
Female spotted in the growth tip tonight.
Saturday, June 26 View Page
First wife vine. Finally
Saturday, June 26 View Page
Wife vine. More like side vine lol
Sunday, June 27 View Page
Finally some side vines
Thursday, July 1 View Page
Main vine is over I would say 15 feet long. Only 1 female so far that I am not even sure it will open. Not sure whatís going on
Thursday, July 1 View Page
Main vine is over I would say 15 feet long. Only 1 female so far that I am not even sure it will open. Not sure whatís going on
Monday, July 5 View Page
Plant over 15 feet long. Side vines finally growing. Only One female on the main so far that I donít think is going to mature and open.
Sunday, July 11 View Page
I canít give up. I have 2 shots. I see a female out on a side vine that may open in a week or so. Also I have one female on the main vine. It will be opening maybe in 7-10 days. Pray for me
Tuesday, July 20 View Page
Went on vacation. Came home. Missed the pollination. Open pollination. Cross our fingers
Sunday, July 25 View Page
Pollinated this female this morning at 7:30AM with 3 males. I have the female under a homemade tent to protect her from rain. She is about idk 18-20 feet out
Sunday, July 25 View Page
Pumpkin 1 open pollination. Outside of patch area. Day 7. I believe itís still growing. But at a snails pace
Sunday, July 25 View Page
Pumpkin 1 open pollination. Outside of patch area. Day 7. I believe itís still growing. But at a snails pace
Sunday, August 1 View Page
Day 7. Still growing
Sunday, August 8 View Page
Nooooooooooooooooo. How does this happen
Sunday, August 8 View Page
Nooooooooooooooooo. How does this happen
Sunday, August 8 View Page
Ouch
Friday, August 13 View Page
Day 18 41CC. Averaging little over 3 inches a day in circumference last 2 days
Saturday, August 14 View Page
Side vine fruit day 19 44.5 inches. It is about 12 feet up the main and 8 feet on the side vine. I have a main vine fruit going after the one that exploded on me. Itís probably out 25+ feet. Day 10 22 inches. I might let them both ride. Will I break 1000lbs. No. Will I break 500 lbs? No. 200lbs? I am going to try
Sunday, August 15 View Page
Day 20 for the side vine fruit. 46 inches in circumference. Hopefully in the next 7 days or so we will be estimating at a 100lbs
Sunday, August 22 View Page
Side vine fruit 67lbs 58 inches in circumference. Hurricane rolling in today. Here goes nothing

 

Top of Page

Questions or comments? Send mail to Ken AT bigpumpkins.com.
Copyright © 1999-2021 BigPumpkins.com. All rights reserved.