Home What's New Message Board
BigPumpkins.com
Select Destination Site Search
 
DaltonS.Ohio - 2020 Grower Diary Point your RSS aggregator here to subscribe to this Grower Diary.

Show Entries in

Grower Diary Menu
  Back to Previous Page
List Other Grower's Diaries
Submit to Your Own Diary

 
Click on a thumbnail picture below to see the full size version. 44 Entries.
Thursday, January 9 View Page
1st sample results
 
Tuesday, February 11 View Page
Test germs 5.5 days
 
Tuesday, February 25 View Page
933
 
Tuesday, February 25 View Page
Current ph after adding 80lbs lime to 625sqft Jan.14th
 
Thursday, March 5 View Page
Won't let it go to compost had to pot up again
 
Monday, March 30 View Page
Patch work, almost looks like it'll grow something.
 
Friday, April 10 View Page
Sunset on the Ohio River
 
Thursday, April 23 View Page
933 Berard really impressive 40hrs post sand-n-soak also my best test germination seed. Meanwhile my "big seeds" no signs of life. This guy may become the chosen 1 he sure has vigor.
 
Sunday, April 26 View Page
Curly cots???
 
Sunday, April 26 View Page
The troops
 
Thursday, April 30 View Page
Prepared and warming hope to go in the ground 5th-8th weather has been wet and mild
 
Wednesday, May 6 View Page
Two plants in the ground, unfortunately there's frost forecasted. Little hut stayed 11 degrees above actual temp last night so fingers crossed. Backups looking good in pots.
 
Sunday, May 10 View Page
933 Berard vs. 1344 caspers
 
Sunday, May 17 View Page
Plants seem happy, 933 Berard continues to impress. Pretty sure I killed my first cucumber beetle. Sprayed half strength bifen and drenched with bio advanced Friday. Let the fun begin.
 
Sunday, May 24 View Page
933 Berard. Finally some good warm weather.
 
Monday, May 25 View Page
933 does not want to lay down
 
Tuesday, May 26 View Page
Better late than never. 5 gallon challenge
 
Friday, May 29 View Page
933 Berard
 
Sunday, June 7 View Page
933 Berard first males opened today baby pumpkin bout 10ft out
 
Sunday, June 7 View Page
Not the low aerodynamic Xmas tree pattern I had hoped for but it's aggressive and growing predictably
 
Thursday, June 11 View Page
Probably not the keeper but think I'll try to pollinate it 933 Berard
 
Friday, June 12 View Page
111 days til Oct. 933Berard
 
Saturday, June 13 View Page
Critters couldn't resist the fish emulsion I used on my 5gal tomato and potted peppers yesterday. Need to up my pest management routine
 
Sunday, June 14 View Page
933
 
Monday, June 22 View Page
933 Berard
 
Monday, June 22 View Page
Growing tips on oldest secondaries
 
Monday, June 22 View Page
10 dap 20.5 circumference
 
Thursday, June 25 View Page
30in circumference 13dap. She was pretty but I had no Scurve and want to keep the secondary next to her. Plenty of options further out, but dang that hurt.
 
Friday, July 3 View Page
Anything to worry about??? I think the leaf blowing created the stress that caused the split so the leaf went bye bye.
 
Friday, July 3 View Page
933 17dap
 
Friday, July 3 View Page
Stem split
 
Monday, July 6 View Page
20dap numbers 933 Berard 154.5 ott.
 
Friday, July 10 View Page
933 Berard
 
Wednesday, July 15 View Page
Big kin 29dap little kin 25dap both 933Berard selfed
 
Sunday, July 26 View Page
933Berard selfed day 40 taping 352lbs unfortunately avg gains seem to be slowing gonna try to push her a bit update at day 50
 
Friday, August 7 View Page
Big gain days are behind me, tried pushing the last 10days only got 4-5 per day. 449lb Est. She's getting a few surface cracks. Hope she holds together til late Sept so she can go on display for a couple weeks.
 
Sunday, August 9 View Page
Patch pic 933Berard
 
Sunday, August 16 View Page
61dap and showing her age 933Berard selfed.
 
Sunday, August 16 View Page
Got this one going as well 658 Caspers/933Berard shoulda been a 150sqft plant but had planned on yanking the plant, never did. 35dapish
 
Wednesday, September 2 View Page
Not a lot going on. Just crawled past 500lbs and stopped. Lots of stretch marks but holding together. Hope to harvest on the 15th.
 
Wednesday, September 9 View Page
933 Berard taping 536lbs
 
Saturday, September 12 View Page
Well we got her around front. 933 Berard selfed now an estimated 536lbs. Will post some thoughts on my rookie season soon.
 
Tuesday, October 6 View Page
Post season soil sample
 
Tuesday, October 6 View Page
Rookie recap, 400lb goal my only pumpkin (933 Berard selfed) taped an estimated 537. Soil is a work in progress, gotta figure out why my plant self terminated. Lots of great help from everyone here. Should have some great seeds coming this winter. Gonna put an 800+ goal out there for year 2. Also trying some other interesting plants next season. Good growing everyone.
 

 

Top of Page

Questions or comments? Send mail to Ken AT bigpumpkins.com.
Copyright © 1999-2020 BigPumpkins.com. All rights reserved.