Home What's New Message Board
BigPumpkins.com
Select Destination Site Search
 
VTSteve - 2020 Grower Diary Point your RSS aggregator here to subscribe to this Grower Diary.

Show Entries in

Grower Diary Menu
  Back to Previous Page
List Other Grower's Diaries
Submit to Your Own Diary

 
Click on a thumbnail picture below to see the full size version. 34 Entries.
Sunday, April 19 View Page
1781 Zywiec, 1610 Lieber, three 912 Minor seeds wrapped in moist paper towel inside baggie in germination box after quick 9-1 bleach soak and 1 hour water soak.
 
Wednesday, April 22 View Page
1781 Zywiec germinated after 24 hours; 1610 Lieber after 36; 912 Minor still dormant after 60 hours. :(
 
Wednesday, April 22 View Page
1781 Zywiec and 1610 Lieber potted today
 
Thursday, April 23 View Page
2109 Zywiec and 2 1028 Gienger seeds in germination chamber for backups.
 
Friday, April 24 View Page
1781 Zywiec and 1610 Lieber has broken dirt. One 912 Minor has germinated.
 
Sunday, April 26 View Page
912 Minor in pot. Patch rototilled with snow forecast tonight and a week of rain.
 
Monday, April 27 View Page
Unhappy with 912 seed. Four more seeds in germination chamber. Both 2109 Zywiec and one 1028 Gienger have broken seed casings.
 
Saturday, May 2 View Page
1781 Zywiec and 1610 Lieber in 2 gallon pots. 1028 Gienger and 2109 Zywiec broke dirt in 5 inch peat pots.
 
Friday, May 15 View Page
1781 Zywiec, 1610 Lieber, and 912 Minor planted in hoop houses. Just 2 weeks later than normal due to cooler than usual temperatures. No problem.
 
Sunday, May 24 View Page
1610 Lieber 9 days in hoop
 
Sunday, May 24 View Page
1781 Zywiec 9 days in hoop.
 
Sunday, May 24 View Page
912 Minor 9 days in hoop.
 
Tuesday, May 26 View Page
1781 Zywiec 11 days after planting.
 
Tuesday, May 26 View Page
1610 Lieber 11 days after planting.
 
Tuesday, May 26 View Page
912 Minor 11 days after planting.
 
Monday, June 1 View Page
1610 Lieber grew 6 more inches today to press against hoop house plastic. Time for it to meet the real world. Sink or swim, baby. 1781 Zywiec will be next before the end of the week.
 
Tuesday, June 2 View Page
1610 Lieber out of hoop house, vines buried, about 6 feet long.
 
Thursday, June 4 View Page
1781 Zywiec has joined 1610 Lieber in the fresh air. Hopefully, the 912 Minor will catch up by end of the week.
 
Friday, June 5 View Page
1610 Lieber about 8 feet long and picking up speed.
 
Friday, June 5 View Page
1781 Zywiec also @8 feet long. Almost time to up phosphorus levels.
 
Monday, June 8 View Page
First male blossom and developing female on 1781. Main vine is around 10 feet long.
 
Monday, June 8 View Page
912 Minor is out of hoop house. Vines buried. Bring on the blossoms.
 
Tuesday, June 16 View Page
Culled females on 1610 Lieber and 1781 Zywiec today, both at about 12 feet from stump. The next females should have enough side vines to support a pollination. Males are not as prolific as I would like on all 3 plants.
 
Monday, June 22 View Page
1610 Lieber did a surprise female opening this morning at 11 feet. Culled fruit and watching for next opening at 13 feet. 1781 Zywiec is getting ready to grow a fruit at 11 feet. 912 Minor had a female at 9 feet, but I'm waiting for the next one to give secondaries a chance to catch up.
 
Friday, June 26 View Page
1610 Lieber is at 17 feet, 1781 Zywiec is at 13 feet, 912 Minor is at 10 feet. Size depends on amount of sunlight each gets every day. Pollinations should be taking place next week.
 
Tuesday, June 30 View Page
1781 Zywiec main vine with 2 female buds broke at leaf node doing "the cobra". Live and learn.
 
Saturday, July 4 View Page
1610 Lieber was pollinated this morning with 912 Minor. Forgot to measure distance, so that will be posted later.
 
Saturday, July 4 View Page
912 Minor female looked a little "funky". Passed on pollination and will wait for next female 18 inches further on.
 
Monday, July 13 View Page
This is Make or Break Week. Pollinations aren't taking due to heat and humidity, and I've run out of room in patch. If pollinations fail this week, plants get pulled.
 
Wednesday, July 15 View Page
Perhaps?
 
Thursday, July 23 View Page
1610 Lieber at 8 DAP. 1781 Zywiec plant gets pulled tomorrow due to pollination failures.
 
Tuesday, August 11 View Page
1610 Lieber died yesterday. Two down, one to go. 912 Minor yet remains.
 
Thursday, September 10 View Page
912 is soup at day 40. End of season. Throwing in towel. Time to clean up debris and build up soil.
 
Thursday, September 10 View Page
912 is soup at day 40. End of season. Throwing in towel. Time to clean up debris and build up soil.
 

 

Top of Page

Questions or comments? Send mail to Ken AT bigpumpkins.com.
Copyright © 1999-2020 BigPumpkins.com. All rights reserved.