Home What's New Message Board
BigPumpkins.com
Select Destination Site Search
 
DJW (Dan) - 2019 Grower Diary Point your RSS aggregator here to subscribe to this Grower Diary.

Show Entries in

Grower Diary Menu
  Back to Previous Page
List Other Grower's Diaries
Submit to Your Own Diary

 
Click on a thumbnail picture below to see the full size version. 41 Entries.
Tuesday, March 12 View Page
Time to officially start the 2019 diary. Didnít get my samples pulled in the fall like I would have liked.
Thursday, March 28 View Page
Stocking up...
Thursday, March 28 View Page
Getting there, still a few more things on my list
Saturday, April 13 View Page
50 pounds SOP, 25 pounds starter plus, 20 pounds kelp meal, 15 pounds epsom salt, 4 pounds urea, 1 pound borax, 1 pound zinc sulfate. Saved about 1/3 of the SOP for amending later. Also plan to use some additional epsom salt in my feeding program.
Wednesday, April 17 View Page
Took advantage of one of the few rain free days we have or will have for awhile. Cables have been in and now plastic is up on the cold frames.
Thursday, April 18 View Page
Got the fence installed around the patch today, and started some seeds. One of these years Iíll try earlier but for now Iím still going with first week of May for transplant.
Monday, May 6 View Page
1810 Werner
Saturday, May 11 View Page
1501 VW vs. 2112
Saturday, May 11 View Page
1810
Wednesday, May 22 View Page
1501 VW. 2112 was culled.
Wednesday, May 22 View Page
1810
Thursday, May 30 View Page
24 hours with the cold frame plastic removed. Luckily I had just got done putting plastic back up in preparation for strong winds. We got more than wind...
Thursday, May 30 View Page
1810 with a few leaves damaged.
Thursday, May 30 View Page
1501 came out even better.
Thursday, May 30 View Page
With 3 straight days of severe thunderstorms, risk of hail, and tornado watches/warnings even the snakes are seeking shelter to mate. Kind of creepy but good rodent control I guess. They used my patch like a cheap motel and were gone in a few hours.
Wednesday, June 12 View Page
Feeding time
Wednesday, June 12 View Page
1501
Wednesday, June 12 View Page
1810
Wednesday, June 26 View Page
1810 in front, 1501 in the back.
Sunday, July 7 View Page
1810
Sunday, July 7 View Page
1501
Sunday, July 14 View Page
1810
Sunday, July 14 View Page
1501
Sunday, July 14 View Page
Patch overview
Sunday, July 14 View Page
Tomatoes and Sunflowers. Tomatoes - 2 of each: 5.11 Dunn, 5.95 Konieczny, and 6.23 Konieczny (sorry if I butchered the spelling of that last name). Sunflowers are big head Zappas. They are labeled, but I can't recall the sizes at the moment.
Monday, July 22 View Page
1501 July 14 to 21
Monday, July 22 View Page
1810 July 14 to 21
Friday, August 2 View Page
1501 VW. August 1 = DAP39. CC 137.5Ē
Friday, August 2 View Page
1501 pic
Friday, August 2 View Page
1810 Werner. August 1 = DAP36. cc 145.5Ē
Sunday, August 4 View Page
Hey tomato guys. Any chance this could make an October weighoff? Looks cool with that ribbon vine or whatever you call it!
Monday, August 5 View Page
1501 vw DAP 43.
Monday, August 5 View Page
1810 Werner DAP 40. Records arenít in front of me, but this is probably somewhere around 200-250 pounds over my best by DAP or by calendar date.
Sunday, August 11 View Page
1501 VW showing a little color. Not quite what I had hoped for but no complaints.
Sunday, August 11 View Page
1810 Werner.
Sunday, August 18 View Page
My helper coming out to give me a hand on Friday.
Wednesday, August 28 View Page
1501 VW getting color
Wednesday, August 28 View Page
1810 looking good. Should be approaching PB territory in about a week.
Saturday, August 31 View Page
Patch overview. Bring on September!
Saturday, August 31 View Page
1501 VW. DAP 69.
Thursday, September 12 View Page
Didn't time these quite right for fall weighoffs. Ranging unofficially from 2.5 to 3.5 pounds. I have no idea how I got one to 4.4 pounds and timed perfectly for Altoona, PA weighoff last year. Needless to say I have a lot to learn, but I do have a few late sets that might make a fall weighoff or two.

 

Top of Page

Questions or comments? Send mail to Ken AT bigpumpkins.com.
Copyright © 1999-2019 BigPumpkins.com. All rights reserved.