Home What's New Message Board
BigPumpkins.com
Select Destination Site Search
 
abbynormal - 2019 Grower Diary Point your RSS aggregator here to subscribe to this Grower Diary.

Show Entries in

Grower Diary Menu
  Back to Previous Page
List Other Grower's Diaries
Submit to Your Own Diary

 
Click on a thumbnail picture below to see the full size version. 83 Entries.
Wednesday, January 16 View Page
Went to Block Island yesterday and did some soul searching..
 
Monday, March 4 View Page
My happy place.............
 
Saturday, April 6 View Page
I bet we can find some big melons down here..
 
Tuesday, April 16 View Page
Started a 532 House, 907 Young, 1275 Rea and 1297 Young today..I will start the rest 4-20...
 
Friday, April 19 View Page
I made a new friend today.. Top that Henry..
 
Sunday, May 5 View Page
This must be the super top secret trail to Abbynormals garden..
 
Tuesday, May 7 View Page
Tomato's, Pumpkins and Flowers all in one Cold Frame.. Pumpkins go in the ground either Thursday or Saturday.. Good luck everyone..
 
Wednesday, May 8 View Page
Good morning everyone..
 
Wednesday, May 8 View Page
This can only mean one thing, I put some plants in the ground today.. Planted 1297 Young, 1275 Rea, 532 House, 681, 729, 851, 1044 and 1092 Gansert..
 
Thursday, May 16 View Page
Good morning from Johnston RI.. We many get a little sun for the second day in a row...
 
Wednesday, May 22 View Page
Some days the hardest thing to do is nothing...
 
Thursday, May 23 View Page
Best stair workout in the world..
 
Wednesday, June 5 View Page
Put up about 150 foot of silt fence today.. That can only mean that I have plants out growing the huts.. I am behind everyone else around here, but being on a budget and the lack of good weather it is the best I can do so I am happy.. If you look real hard you can see my super hi tech rain gague made it off the ground for the first time.. I almost feel like one of the heavy shitters now.. Life is good..
 
Thursday, June 6 View Page
Took the cold frames off 532 House, 681 Gansert, 1275 Rea and 1297 Young. Put up another 30 foot of silt fence and started on water..
 
Saturday, June 8 View Page
Gangsta deer are back.. Time to get a bigger trap..
 
Tuesday, June 11 View Page
My super Hi Tech, Dollar Store, Rain Gage, says I don't need to water for a few days..
 
Sunday, June 23 View Page
The plants are just starting to grow.. If the sun stays out for a while life will be good..
 
Thursday, June 27 View Page
My entry in the small pot contest..
 
Saturday, June 29 View Page
I brought my small pot challenge plant in last night. It may be a pollin donor today.. If not there is always a plan B.. So that no one out there gets all worked up, the plant you see is from one of my seeds..
 
Saturday, June 29 View Page
Polinated 532 House with my 494 ( 993 x sib ) which is my small pot challenge plant..
 
Saturday, June 29 View Page
Polinated my 681 with my 1092.5.. The 681 is being grown in a flag pattern mainly for genetics.
 
Saturday, June 29 View Page
My small pot plant did so good that I repotted it.. I want a couple more flowers from it if possible.....
 
Monday, July 1 View Page
My trusty Rain Gage says no need to water today..
 
Monday, July 1 View Page
It's 5:30 am do you know where your pets are ?
 
Monday, July 1 View Page
1297 Young x 1092.5 Gansert
 
Monday, July 1 View Page
1275 Rea x 1092.5 Gansert
 
Wednesday, July 3 View Page
681 Gansert x 1092.5 Gansert ( second on main )
 
Thursday, July 4 View Page
681 Gansert x 1092.5 Gansert ( third on main )
 
Thursday, July 4 View Page
1297 Young x 1092.5 Gansert ( second on main )
 
Friday, July 5 View Page
532 House x 851 Gansert ( second on main )
 
Friday, July 5 View Page
1044 Gansert x 816 Gansert ( second on main )
 
Saturday, July 6 View Page
Polinated 1275 Rea x 1092.5 Gansert ( second on main )
 
Sunday, July 7 View Page
729 Gansert x 532 House
 
Sunday, July 7 View Page
1092 Gansert x 1275 Rea
 
Sunday, July 7 View Page
1297 Young x 1092 Gansert ( third on main )
 
Sunday, July 7 View Page
I was worried that I wouldn't have any June polinations and today what did I do but cut them both off for something further out on the plants...
 
Monday, July 8 View Page
816 Gansert x 1044 Gansert
 
Monday, July 8 View Page
851 Gansert x 907 Young
 
Wednesday, July 10 View Page
My day just got a little better..
 
Thursday, July 11 View Page
Smile pretty..
 
Friday, July 12 View Page
3 in 48 hours.. Thanks Tony for letting me put a trap in your yard..
 
Friday, July 12 View Page
No need to water for a couple days..
 
Saturday, July 13 View Page
Fourth one in three days in the same spot..
 
Sunday, July 14 View Page
907 Young x sib
 
Sunday, July 14 View Page
Public enemy number 6 ( for the season ) five in the last 4 days..
 
Wednesday, July 17 View Page
Yesterday was decision day on 7 plants, these were the biggest pumpkins I cut of to save smaller ones in better locations,, Left is the 1275 Rea and on the right is the 1297 Young.
 
Wednesday, July 17 View Page
My small pot challenge plant in on the way back to a healthy life.. Amazing how a half handful of bloodmeal, couple handfuls of fresh chicken manure and some ureamate can breathe life back into a sickly plant.. Maybe I should try some on myself..
 
Thursday, July 18 View Page
Polinated second 907 Young x sib.. This one had a seed in blossom.. Have another one in couple days..
 
Monday, July 22 View Page
Good morning from Johnston RI..
 
Wednesday, July 24 View Page
20 day cc on 681 Gansert is 73 inches.
 
Thursday, July 25 View Page
20 day cc on 532 House is 64 inches..
 
Thursday, July 25 View Page
20 day cc on 1044 Gansert is 84 inches..
 
Friday, July 26 View Page
In the small pot challenge,,, take that flat man...
 
Friday, July 26 View Page
20 day cc on 1275 Rea is 75 inches..
 
Saturday, July 27 View Page
20 day cc on 729 Gansert is 68 inches.
 
Saturday, July 27 View Page
20 day cc on 1092 Gansert is 78 inches.
 
Saturday, July 27 View Page
20 day cc on 1297 Young is 85 inches.
 
Saturday, July 27 View Page
Call me stew ....
 
Sunday, July 28 View Page
20 day cc on 816 Gansert is 74 inches..
 
Sunday, July 28 View Page
No shortage of critters on The Plantation...
 
Sunday, August 4 View Page
Had a great time at the VT Patch Tour and cookout yesterday..
 
Sunday, August 4 View Page
31 day numbers on my 681 are cc 104, ss 75, ee 71, ( 250 ott ).
 
Sunday, August 4 View Page
30 day numbers on 532 House are cc 94, ss 68, ee 66, ( 228 ott ).
 
Sunday, August 4 View Page
30 day numbers on my 1044 are cc 117, ss 76, ee 72, ( 265 ott ).
 
Monday, August 5 View Page
30 day numbers on 1275 Rea are cc 109, ss 78, ee 72, ( 259 ott ).
 
Tuesday, August 6 View Page
30 day numbers on 729 Gansert are cc95, ss76, ee 68 ( 239 ott )
 
Tuesday, August 6 View Page
30 day numbers on 1092 Gansert are cc 112, ss 81, ee 76 ( 269 ott )
 
Tuesday, August 6 View Page
1092 Gansert
 
Tuesday, August 6 View Page
30 day numbers on 1297 Young are cc 121, ss 80, ee 78 ( 279 ott )
 
Wednesday, August 7 View Page
20 day cc on 907 Young is 62 inches..
 
Wednesday, August 7 View Page
30 day numbers on 816 Gansert are cc 107, ss 83, ee 74, ( 264 ott ).
 
Wednesday, August 7 View Page
This is the second opossum that I caught this season.. I hear that they eat bugs and ticks so I don't relocate them.. As you can see I have a stick holding open the door on the trap.. Like the first one it ate the bait and now it is going to take a nap.. I guess an open trap is a good place to camp for the day..
 
Tuesday, August 13 View Page
I think I may need a new tiller..
 
Tuesday, August 13 View Page
40 day numbers on 681 Gansert are cc 116, ss 84, ee 80, ( 280 ott )..
 
Wednesday, August 14 View Page
40 day numbers on 532 House are cc 109, ss 82, ee 76 , ( 267 ott ) Pumpkin is filling out color is good. Joe,, Thank you for the seed ..
 
Wednesday, August 14 View Page
40 day numbers on 1044 Gansert are cc 130, ss 83, ee 80, ( 293 ott ) .. This pumpkin has a Svb invasion.. I dug the little culprit out, took a little work, left a good sized scar. If I could put togeather a hand lift it could possibly go to the Woodstock Fair..
 
Thursday, August 15 View Page
40 day numbers on 1275 Rea are cc 130, ss 91, ee 85, ( 306 ott ). Thank you Glenna for the seed..
 
Thursday, August 15 View Page
The view from my attic..
 
Friday, August 16 View Page
40 day numbers on 729 Gansert are cc 109, ss 86, ee 79 ( 274 ott )
 
Friday, August 16 View Page
40 day numbers on 1092 Gansert are cc 130, ss 90, ee 86 ( 306 ott )
 
Friday, August 16 View Page
40 day numbers on 1297 Young are cc 139, ss 90, ee 87 ( 316 ott )..Thank you Mr. Young and The 5th Grader for the seed..
 
Saturday, August 17 View Page
30 day numbers on 907 Young are cc 86, ss 68, ee 67, ( 221 ott ).
 
Saturday, August 17 View Page
40 day numbers on 816 Gansert are cc 125, ss 97, ee 86, ( 308 ott ).
 

 

Top of Page

Questions or comments? Send mail to Ken AT bigpumpkins.com.
Copyright © 1999-2019 BigPumpkins.com. All rights reserved.