Home What's New Message Board
BigPumpkins.com
Select Destination Site Search
 
megakin(Team Illiana) - 2017 Grower Diary Point your RSS aggregator here to subscribe to this Grower Diary.

Show Entries in

Grower Diary Menu
  Back to Previous Page
List Other Grower's Diaries
Submit to Your Own Diary

 
Click on a thumbnail picture below to see the full size version. 88 Entries.
Wednesday, February 22 View Page
Going to give it another shot. Did some modification to the O-Zone for this season. Going to plant 1496marshall16 (2145McMullen x 1317clementz) and 2157paton16 (2096meierx 1789zywiec).
 
Sunday, March 5 View Page
Started 2-1469 Marshall's (2145 x 1317) & 1-2157 Paton (2096 x 1781). Sanded and soaked for about 3 hrs.
 
Tuesday, March 7 View Page
1 1469 germinated in about 24hrs and the other along with the 2157 under 36hrs.
 
Tuesday, March 7 View Page
Planted in 1gal pots and placed in the greenhouse.
 
Saturday, March 11 View Page
1469s & 2157 looking good.
 
Saturday, March 11 View Page
Planted 2157. Had some roots filling pot.
 
Saturday, March 11 View Page
 
Saturday, March 11 View Page
And 1 1469. Had better roots, but germinated about 12hrs sooner.
 
Saturday, March 11 View Page
 
Tuesday, March 28 View Page
2157
 
Wednesday, March 29 View Page
1469
 
Saturday, April 1 View Page
2307 Wallace
 
Monday, April 3 View Page
2307 in soil.
 
Saturday, April 8 View Page
2157
 
Saturday, April 8 View Page
This is 2157 previous pic is 1469
 
Saturday, April 8 View Page
Doesn't look like the 2307 is going to make it. Only 2" root and wouldn't bust our of shell. Removed and half rotten.
 
Sunday, April 9 View Page
Planted 2261.5 Wallace today. Germinated yesterday.
 
Sunday, April 9 View Page
1143 Hoelke planted today germinated yesterday.
 
Saturday, April 15 View Page
1469 @ 8'
 
Saturday, April 15 View Page
2157 @ 6'
 
Sunday, April 16 View Page
Melon seeds started on April 4th. 4-176 O'Brien's, 2-264 Kent's and 1-290 Kent all look good. 208's and 274's not as good.
 
Sunday, April 16 View Page
Going to be busy, so I started all Squash AG's and LG's. 2145McMullen, 2252paton, 1676.5Daletas, 1338Martin, 1127Vincent-McGill(09),1421.5Jutras*, 891.5porkchop* and 811.6Vincent-McGill*(08). LG's are 140.5"Kline, 134"Kline and 107"Kline.
 
Monday, April 17 View Page
2145 & 1676.5 germinated and planted.
 
Wednesday, April 19 View Page
1338martin germinated this morning and planted.
 
Wednesday, April 19 View Page
Not yet ladies. Planted V-M & Porkchop squash.
 
Friday, April 21 View Page
First male
 
Saturday, April 22 View Page
2157 @ 10' doing good.
 
Saturday, April 22 View Page
Things were great on the 1469 until, I noticed it cracked it's self. Was 12', now 10'. 14' wide. Plenty of time, but I feel it won't produce what it could have.
 
Sunday, April 23 View Page
1143Hoelke and 2262.5 Wallace in the ground. 1143 replaced 1469Marshal of Waylens that was ribbon vined
 
Tuesday, April 25 View Page
Planted LG & Tomatoes
 
Saturday, April 29 View Page
2261.5 Wallace about 20days from germination.
 
Saturday, April 29 View Page
1143 Hoelke about 20 days after germination. Looking a little better than 2261.5. Started as back up to 2261.5, but ended up replacing Waylens 1469. Depends on growth and pollination where it will go.
 
Saturday, April 29 View Page
2157 at about 13', pollination within 2 weeks.
 
Saturday, April 29 View Page
1469 about 26' wide and 14' long, pollination within 2 weeks. Side vine is taking over nicely as main and starting to move.
 
Wednesday, May 3 View Page
Need some sunny days, soil temp dropping and plants showing effects. 1day out of 12 and apparently it's November with cool temps and cold rain. Most tomatoes are coming up. 1 long gourd out of a lot, so far.
 
Friday, May 5 View Page
2157 doing good despite cool cloudy weather. Sunny today and for the next few days. Hope it warms the soil back up. It is a stalkier plant than 1469.
 
Friday, May 5 View Page
1469 growing a bit faster than 2157 and new main is still adjusting. Pollination for both may be a week away.
 
Sunday, May 7 View Page
Planted 1421.5* jutras.
 
Sunday, May 7 View Page
2145
 
Sunday, May 7 View Page
264 kent
 
Sunday, May 7 View Page
176 O'Brien
 
Sunday, May 7 View Page
1338 Martin
 
Tuesday, May 9 View Page
2157 opening in the morning.
 
Wednesday, May 10 View Page
2157 x 1469 complete
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
1469 x 2157
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
1143hoelke
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
1421.5*jutras
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
2145
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
2261.5
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
264kent
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
290kent
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
176O'Brien in previous post
 
Sunday, May 14 View Page
1338Martin
 
Wednesday, May 24 View Page
Field pumpkins started. 162 MacCoy.
 
Wednesday, May 24 View Page
10dap 1469marshal not the biggest, but I'll leave it for now.
 
Tuesday, May 30 View Page
1469 x 2157
 
Saturday, June 3 View Page
1469 x 2157
 
Saturday, June 3 View Page
2261.5 Wallace
 
Saturday, June 3 View Page
2145 McMullen
 
Saturday, June 3 View Page
1338 Martin
 
Monday, June 12 View Page
2261.5 Wallace x 2145 McMullen @ around 18'.
 
Monday, June 12 View Page
2145 McMullen x self
 
Monday, June 12 View Page
Also kinked some main vines, I hope SO. cal is right.
 
Saturday, June 17 View Page
2145 on the left & 2261.5 on the right. Both with 5 dap treated with anthesis.
 
Monday, June 19 View Page
Pollinated the 1338martin x 2145 McMullen. 6/19
 
Tuesday, June 20 View Page
Pollinated 1421.5 jutras x self
 
Thursday, June 22 View Page
2145 x self @ 10dap = 31"circ.
 
Thursday, June 22 View Page
2261.5 x 2145 @ 10dap = 32.5"circ.
 
Thursday, June 22 View Page
1469 x 2157 @ 268ott
 
Thursday, June 22 View Page
1338 looks like it aborted and anthesis applied to jutras squash today.
 
Friday, June 23 View Page
1143 Hoelke @ 153ott
 
Sunday, June 25 View Page
2145 with 2261.5 behind it. 13dap.
 
Sunday, June 25 View Page
2261.5 with 2145 behind it. 13dap
 
Sunday, June 25 View Page
All plants given WOW tea along with ferts.
 
Sunday, July 2 View Page
1469-298.5ott 1143-210.5ott 2261.5-185ott 2145-197ott Both 2261.5 & 2145 @ 20dap. I believe they would have been a bit bigger it wasn't for 3 nights around 48 degrees.
 
Thursday, July 6 View Page
2261.5 @ 24dap 95-65.5-63.5 = 224ott. 255#
 
Thursday, July 6 View Page
2145
 
Friday, July 7 View Page
1143 hoelke 99-68.75-66.5 = 234.25ott. 290#
 
Monday, July 10 View Page
1469
 
Monday, July 10 View Page
2261.5
 
Monday, July 10 View Page
2145
 
Wednesday, July 12 View Page
1469 Marshall 146.5-90-85.5 = 322ott
 
Wednesday, July 12 View Page
2261.5 Wallace 115.25-73.25-76.25 = 264.75
 
Wednesday, July 12 View Page
1143 hoelke 110-73.5-76.5 = 260ott
 
Wednesday, July 12 View Page
2145 McMullen 131-82-82.5 = 295.5ott Both 2261.5 & 2145 @ 30dap
 
Friday, August 11 View Page
The 2145 stopped growing at 41dap and tapes 347.5 ott a real disappointment. Plant is still in good shape. If anyone wants seeds just contact me.
 
Friday, August 11 View Page
1469 marshal almost 350ott
 
Sunday, August 27 View Page
I'm not sure what the hell its smiling at, but I don't find this a bit funny.
 

 

Top of Page

Questions or comments? Send mail to Ken AT bigpumpkins.com.
Copyright © 1999-2017 BigPumpkins.com. All rights reserved.